Focus group "Open Access Books"

The implementation of Open Access in the field of book publications has gained momentum in recent years. Some universities and scientific institutions have already established support measures for Open Access books. There are a number of topics where a dialogue at the interface between the publishing world and the needs of libraries and researchers can be deepened. Cooperation with publishers is particularly important in the humanities and social sciences.

The focus group "Open Access Books" builds on the existing network of people in Berlin who are involved in the field of Open Access and who work at university libraries as well as for small and medium-sized publishers. The group continues the exchange started at the end of 2019 in the context of the 2nd Berlin Round Table. The focus will be on topics such as publishing agreements and their conformity with OA principles (open licensing, granting of rights of use, etc.).

The topic around OA books also moves other networks, so the focus group is open to other people who are willing to participate. The exchange with other initiatives such as ENABLE! Community, Allianz-AG Scientific Publication System is being taken into consideration.

The group's first meeting took place on 3 November 2020. The meeting's documentation is available in the group's internal MediaWiki (German only).

For questions about the focus group, please contact: Maike Neufend (maike.neufend(at)open-access-berlin.de), Elena Di Rosa (dirosa(at)tu-berlin.de) or Agnieszka Wenninger (agnieszka.wenninger(at)open-access-berlin.de).

Fokusgruppe "Open-Access-Bücher"

Die Umsetzung von Open-Access im Bereich der Buchpublikationen schreitet voran. Einige Hochschulen und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen haben bereits Fördermaßnahmen für Open-Access-Bücher etabliert. Es gibt eine Reihe von Themen, bei denen ein Dialog an der Schnittstelle zwischen der Verlagswelt und den Bedürfnissen der Bibliotheken und Wissenschaftler*innen vertieft werden kann. Insbesondere in den geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlichen Fächern ist eine Zusammenarbeit mit Verlagen wichtig.

Die Idee der Fokusgruppe „Open-Access-Bücher“ baut auf dem bestehenden Netzwerk der Berliner Open-Access-Aktiven aus den Universitätsbibliotheken und kleinen und mittleren Verlagen auf und führt den Ende 2019 initiierten Austausch im Rahmen des 2. Berliner Rundgesprächs fort. Im Zentrum stehten solche Themen wie z.B. Verlagsverträge im Kontext der Konformität mit den Open-Access-Grundsätzen (offene Lizenzierung, Vergabe von Nutzungsrechten etc.).

Die Thematik rund um OA-Bücher bewegt auch andere Netzwerke, daher ist die Fokusgruppe für die Teilnahme weiterer Personen offen und der Austausch mit anderen Initiativen wie z.B. ENABLE! Community, Allianz-AG Wissenschaftlisches Publikationssystem etc. angedacht.

Das erste Treffen der Fokusgruppe fand am 3. November 2020 statt. Die Dokumentation des Treffens ist im gruppeninternen MediaWiki verfügbar.

Bei Fragen zur Fokusgruppe wenden Sie sich bitte an: Maike Neufend (maike.neufend(at)open-access-berlin.de), Elena Di Rosa (dirosa(at)tu-berlin.de) oder Agnieszka Wenninger (agnieszka.wenninger(at)open-access-berlin.de).